Header Ads

CBS General Assembly and Election set on May 1

May 1 is Labor Day, a national holiday – a significant day for the laborers. In Cebu, it’s a significant day for bloggers as well.

On the same day, the Cebu Bloggers Society, Inc. (CBSI) holds its General Assembly and Election of Board of Trustees. The May 1, 2010 General Assembly and Election is held at the Parkmall, at the bustling Mandaue Reclamation Area, Mandaue City, Cebu.

Mark Monta, the president and founder of CBSI, calls all members to attend the General Assembly and vote for new Board of Trustees. The Vice President for Membership, Guada Esmena, also calls for membership renewal before or on May 1.

Considered as another milestone of young and fast growing blogging community in the Philippines, several CBSI members already expressed strong support and a significant number already confirmed their attendance.

Election of Board of Trustees

The first election of election of offices and Board of Trustees was held on February 21, 2009. The first election transformed Cebu Bloggers Society from e-group (CBS started as Yahoo! Group in 2008) into a formal group of Cebu bloggers.

With the tremendous growth of members, the current Board of Trustees decided to create the CBS Commission on Elections to organize and manage the election.

On May 1 election, registered members of the group will elect fifteen (15) Board of Trustees (BOT). Elected BOTs shall elect from among themselves the officers of the organization. The CBS officers are composed of a President, Vice-President, a Secretary, a Treasurer and an Auditor.

Member of CBS for at least one (1) year is qualified to run as BOT. Other set of qualifications are itemized in CBS Comelec Resolution No. 01 – 2010. This resoution is available to all CBS members.

Qualified members may file their Certificate of Candidacy from April 24, 2010 to April 30, 2010, at 6:00 in the evening.

To vote, CBS members need to renew their membership for 2010. Details on membership renewal are provided by Guada Esmena at the CBS online forum.

The casting of votes shall start at 5:00 in the afternoon and shall end at 7:30 in the evening of May 1, 2010 at the designated place in Parkmall.

General Assembly

During the General Assembly, the present CBS offices will present accomplishment reports.

  • President’s Report by Mark Monta
  • Membership Committee Report by Guada Esmeña
  • Content Management report by Agnes Jimenez
  • Events Committee report by Sinjin Pineda

Atty. Ethelbert Ouano and Guada Esmeña will host the activity.

About Cebu Bloggers Society

Cebu Bloggers Society is founded on February 14, 2008 by Mark Monta. As of April 2010, the group has 81 registered members (data provided by Clarence Mongado, Membership Committee, Cebu Bloggers Society, Inc.). The group is registered to the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in 2010.

On May 2, 2010, Cebu Bloggers Society with the cooperation of Parkmall initiates the World Bloggers’ Day. All bloggers are encouraged to participate.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.